h1

A Duck(lings) post

June 10, 2010

DUCK!

For those who don’t know, (and for those that do but have bad memories) I live near two canals, the Union and the Forth & Clyde).  To get to work, I walk along  the Forth and Clyde (which, as its name suggests, is a link between the river Forth and the river Clyde). A few weeks ago, I was delighted to see this on my journey…

Ok, maybe I wasn’t so delighted to see the litter in the canal, but the sight of the small feathery puffs was uplifting.  I wouldn’t see them every day, but sometimes I would see them huddled together while their mother watched over them…

I pass under a bridge and one time I saw mother and ducklings having a swim away from potential predator’s eyes…

They are still there, keeping together and hiding in the reeds at the bank when they need to. But I have mostly seen them relaxing on the bank of the canal…

I have recently seen a few ducklings, but not as many as I saw here.

7 comments

  1. I love when you tweet a photo of the ducklings from on your walk to work. It’s amazing how big they are getting now! And that is a wonderful mother duck having to take care of 7 babies with no help! Thank you for sharing your walks and the ducklings, Simon. *duckling hugs*


    • It is great to see them growing up, and to see so many of them too 🙂


  2. I enjoyed reading you new post Simon those ducks and duckings must be so lovely to see they are so cute and such lovely photos it looks great there.


    • Thank you. It is just within a stretch of canal of a few hundred yards that I walk and they tend to be in, or near the same part of canal. And the blend in REALLY well if they have to “disappear” if predators are nearby


  3. That must be such a lovely place to go for a walk. Its so good they blend in well so those predators dont get them. I hope they get on ok.


  4. I love the first pic, the ducks aiming at me with the “V” formation in the water. So fluid and beautiful. So cool how we can coexist with such lovely creatures. You and I both have the luxury of having nature so close to where we live. I try never to take it for granted. Your love for your surroundings is very obvious. Also, thank you for visiting my duck, inspired by you. Great pics. Love you Simon. 🙂


  5. Beautiful…i like the first pic where they are making for you Simon!They are certainly getting lots bigger.



Leave a Reply

