h1

The untaken picture

July 20, 2010

I saw a sight on Saturday that left me wishing I had my camera ready but it was one of those situations where it was either fumble about for the camera and miss the sight or watch and commit it to memory to share later.

I usually walk along the canal on the way to work and encountered some swans. But in recent weeks I had not seen them. I had heard that they had been seen further down the canal but I had yet to see them myself. Instead, I got to see a brood of ducklings grow up.

But on Saturday, I was a passenger in a car that was driving over the canal. I looked at the water but my gaze turned to the path alongside the canal. Walking along the path was a family of swans. There were two adults and about 3 or 4 cygnets (who had already grown to almost adult size). It was wonderful to see them and they were perfectly content to walk up the path ~ an evening stroll. I hope that I will see them again soon.

3 comments

  1. Simon, how wonderful! I told you, those ducks and swans are famous because of you and your beautiful pictures. They won’t wander too far from you gaze. I’m so glad you got to see them. They know how much you appreciate their beauty. Thanks for sharing your special memory. ❤


  2. You’re very welcome 🙂 the moorhen is still being elusive though 🙂


  3. That sounded wonderful Simon it must have been so lovely seeing those swans walking along that path. Swans are so lovely. A hope you are having a good day there.



Leave a Reply

