h1

Disconnected

August 29, 2010

My iPhone died on me earlier on today.

Since then, it has made me realise how much I use it, not as much the phone aspect as the communication aspect. I often tweet from it and post pics or read blogs or chat with fantastic friends. All of these things would have been difficult/impossible to do about 15 years ago. Technology is a marvelous thing when it works and it has provided me with a chance to get to know some amazingly inspirational people from all over this planet. But until I can get the phone working again, I will have a quieter online presence.

Thank you for reading

8 comments

  1. Yeah, in my opinion, it does not work well as a phone. My husband calls me every day as he is driving home and it takes him about 20 minutes. Our present records is FIVE times — FIVE times in 20 minutes we had to call eachother back to finish a phone conversation. The iPhone is a terrible phone. I don’t care if it is because of the iPhone or ATT — it is a terrible PHONE. But I am on it all the time on FB and Twitter. I hold it while I watch TV and if there is a commercial I am using it or a rerun.

    Hopefully it comes back on for you.


  2. Addendum ~ Great news, it seems to be working again. Once the battery drained, I tried the home button/sleep button reset buttons and got the battery drained image. I started charging and it seems to be back up (oh and it was 90+% charge when it went blank)


  3. Oh no Simon! How quick can you get it fixed? I hope soon because the beauty you bring to people via your phone is lovely and inspirational. Hope you are not without it too long. You will be missed.

    Joanne ❤


  4. Oops, I didn’t see your comment…. looks like you fixed it! Yay! :)….Dang phones, always toying with us. 😉


    • I’m not sure I fixed it as such. The battery drained quicker than normal and it’s been working since (I had an MP3 player that froze until battery drained, I must have weird effect on electronic gadgets) 🙂


  5. The problem isn’t with the iPhone but with the way it’s used (phone vs apps and twitter.) It’s the actual physical effect it’s having on people’s brains, especially when people are on it too often, too long and/or too late. It’s being proven to delay and disrupt sleep and is showing up on CT scans as causing actual physical changes to the brain. It would be better if used only as a phone since many users don’t seem able to keep their use under control.


    • Oh, and wouldn’t it be better to spend time with friends in real life who are neglected when too much time is being spent in the virtual world?


  6. iPhone awful weekend, lost mine very late friday at the apex of a very fine night out, as you say you don’t realise how attached you get to these bloomin things….replcement came out today..got all my music and apps back but 90% of my contacts are gone…hope your resurrected appliance has a long life!!



Leave a Reply

